top of page

Awards Criteria

Nominations will be considered in six categories:


  • Heritage Restoration

  • Heritage Tradesperson

  • Design in Context

  • Heritage Stewardship

  • Adaptive Reuse

  • Lifetime Achievement           


Heritage Restoration

Nominations are considered for finished architectural restoration projects of historic properties. The committee considers architectural design, quality of conservation work, preservation of original features, use of traditional materials, and the integrity of the structure and its surrounding site. 

Buildings which display an architectural style that is of a recognizable modern design (early to mid-twentieth century) will also be considered.

Heritage Tradesperson

This award recognizes the skill and contribution of an individual in the craft of trade professions in heritage conservation. The individual must work using specialist and traditional methods and exhibit a high standard of craftsmanship.

Individual tradesperson(s), architect(s), or other heritage professional(s) having completed exemplary work relating to the conservation, preservation or restoration of a heritage structure are eligible for nomination.

Design in Context


More than an issue of aesthetics, quality building design has the power to encourage economic development and improve the quality of life for residents in an area. Such design may address issues of sustainability and encourage community renewal.

The Trust seeks to recognize individuals or organiations that have completed an architectural design project sensitive to the heritage character (architecture, streetscape, viewscape, etc.) of the surrounding environment. New, infill and renovations will be considered for how sympathetic the addition is to the historic context of the neighbouring area with regard to style, scale, form, and building materials. The quality of workmanship may also be assessed.

Heritage Stewardship

Awards may be considered for excellence in long-term maintenance of heritage properties that have not been significantly altered since construction. Properties showing little alteration to the original structure and surrounding landscape will be assessed on their original architectural integrity and maintenance by subsequent owners.

Adaptive Reuse


This award recognizes significant projects that adapt heritage buildings to serve new uses in their communities.

Lifetime Achievement

The Duff-O’Dea Lifetime Achievement Award, named in honour of inaugural recipients Shannie Duff and Shane O’Dea, recognizes individuals who have made an exceptional contribution over a period of 25 years or more to heritage conservation in the province.  The successful individual will have demonstrated:

  • Leadership

  • Commitment

  • Creativity

  • Positive impact on the community, region or province

  • Good conservation practices 

All completed applications submitted by the deadline will be reviewed by the Southcott Selection Committee.  All nominators will receive a response following the Committee's review (please include your contact information, including email address, with all correspondence).

Nomination forms should be emailed to Download the form here.

Decisions of the Selection Committee are final. The Committee reserves the right to refuse an award in any given category.

bottom of page