St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church (The Kirk)
Saturday, September 7
10:00 am to 4:00 pm
76 Queens Road
St. Andrew's is an excellent example of a High Victorian Gothic Revival church. The structure was built using red Accrington brick and Scottish Giffnock stone. Local Newfoundland red and black slate covers the roof which has a terracotta tile ridge. The Kirk boast one of the world's best collections of Ballentine stained-glass windows from the renowned firm A. Ballentine & Sons of Scotland. Between 1902 and 1926 James Ballentine installed a series of twelve windows depicting various episodes in the life of Jesus Christ. The window in the east transept is an exception, it was installed in 1922 as a war memorial in honour of the twenty-five young men of the congregation who gave their lives during the Great War from 1914-1918. The Kirk is a monument to the important contributions of Scots to the development of the City of St. John's. The Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador designated St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church a Registered Heritage Structure in 1997.
Partial accessibility for persons with disabilities affecting mobility, On-site parking, On-street parking.